Skincare: Exfoliating sensitive or blemish-prone skin

IMG_3155

I think the idea of exfoliating can be quite difficult if you suffer with sensitive skin, rosacea or blemishes; it can either feel too harsh, stripping, or abrasive. But it’s advised that you exfoliate once every two weeks (this may differ depending on your skin type, but for me its works well), one because it aids skin renewal by removing the dead skin cells and two because sometimes your skin needs a really good clean.

In terms of exfoliating blemish-prone skin, if you use topical treatments with salicylic acid or benzol peroxide in then often you are left with combination type skin, or more commonly dry patches; so exfoliating every so often will help remove any dry dead skin. In addition to this, regardless of your skin type, if you use lots of products both skincare and makeup then exfoliating will help to remove any dirt and sebum sitting the top layer of your skin. I wouldn’t consider it a ‘deep’ cleansing routine because face masks are able to get deeper…they do all of the real dirty work. Exfoliating can also be a quick fix if your skin is feeling dull and grey, and it doesn’t require that much effort.

IMG_3156 IMG_3163

Firstly I’ll talk about Neutrogena Visibly Clear Gentle Exfoliating Wash, I’ve used this for about 4 years and they’ve changed the packaging and reformulated it a few times but it still seems to work for me. Like I said I only use this once every 2 weeks because I don’t like to chop and change products too often. Exfoliating shouldn’t feel painful, I know a good body scrub feels good but I don’t think its appropriate for your face. This product dissolves oil and helps reduce impurities so those pesky blemishes are kept at bay; it has soft microbeads which are the tiny blue specks in the photo and these gently exfoliate dead skin cells, remove trapped dirt, oil and makeup without over-drying your skin. I find this works really well on my sensitive skin, I can feel the exfoliating beads but I’m not left with a bright red face; I’d recommend this if you suffer with breakouts and are a bit of an exfoliating newbie.

IMG_3167

Next I’ve included an option that would suit anyone really but which I reserve for when my skin feels particularily sensitive. This little sponge is from the Botanics range in boots (I can’t find them online though) and is designed to exfoliate your skin much like any other product except you don’t need a specific cleanser with it, so if you find your skin reacts badly to new products or you breakout if you switch up your skincare then this little sponge might be worth a try. It’s also the cheapest way to exfoliate, if you already have a cleanser that works for you then just pair them together. The best way to use this is to firstly wet the sponge with warm water and then rub it across your face in circular motions; at first I found it a bit rough but with a little bit more water and cleanser it worked wonders! This probably won’t remove excess oils and dirt as much as an exfoliating cleanser will but it will get rid of any dead skin cells you have clinging on, the only downside is that because the texture of the sponge is quite rough you might look a bit flushed after using it, but that settles down within 30 minutes.

I hope all of this exfoliating chat helps someone out, I was about to ramble on about how you don’t need to splash the cash on expensive exfoliators if you find one that works for you…but I’ve just been eyeing up the Dermalogica Daily Microfoliant. Has anyone tried it?

xxxx

One comment

  1. Reblogged this on Do Face Creams Work? and commented:
    ASAP Daily Exfoliating Facial Scrub is really good!

Leave a Reply

