Beauty: L’oreal Universal Lip Glow

IMG_2984 IMG_2986 IMG_2988 IMG_2990

I recently bought this L’oreal Studio Secrets Professional Universal Lip Glow (longest name ever) and I think it’s a pretty good dupe for the Laura Mercier Lip Balm. The idea of a universal lip glow is quite simple really; it’s a lipstick that adapts uniquely to the heat and moisture of your lips to form a bespoke individual colour, so it offers an almost tailor-made shade of pink. After using it a few times I’d consider it more of tinted lip balm, the colour was the same on both mine and my lovely mother’s lips so I’d imagine it wouldn’t be that different for anyone else; but it does leave your lips feeling soft and supple with a slightly pink/purple sheen. Don’t be fooled by the transparency in the bullet and the swatch on my hand though, it has a lot more colour pay off than you think. It’s also enriched with pomegranate extract, emollient oil and polymers and the transparency of the stick is due to the combination of two gelling agents and the absence of wax so the texture is light and reasonably moisturising. With this being said, I think it’s priced quite highly at £8.49 and I can’t help but think that a tinted vaseline does a similar job; having it in lipstick form does however make it really easy to apply and fuss-free, does anyone else hate having lip colours on their fingers? I’m probably drawn more to the concept of having a lip balm disguised as a lipstick than I am about the adaptation of colour.

I’ve found it works nicely over lipstick if you want a slight sheen to a matte lip and if I’m having a bit of dull skin day then this does brighten my complexion…slightly. I still prefer the Laura Mercier one because it has SPF15 and it left a much more flattering orangey tone to my lips so it would be nicer for the summer, it’s just a shame its £17. Is that too much for a lip balm? Somebody encourage me to buy it…

xxxx

Leave a Reply

