Skincare: Dalacin T Lotion

IMG_2705 IMG_2710

IMG_2699IMG_2700IMG_2701

I was prescribed this lotion on the 4th of December 2012 after visiting the doctor complaining of acne, like I said before I have ‘mild acne’ but was getting fed up of trying lots of treatments and not getting results. Once we’d talked about what I’d tried before (treatments made with Benzol Peroxide and Salicylic Acid) the wonderful doctor looked through what looked like the doctors bible and found some acne treatments for sensitive skin. Whilst she was doing this I started banging on about how I wanted to try oral antibiotics because I didn’t want to overload my face with new things, but the typical acne treatments like Roaccutane can cancel out other medications and can have some serious side effects; I would only be able to try these if nothing else worked….my plan had failed! Well not really but I was half hoping for an easy way to cure it.

Dalacin T topical lotion seemed like the best option for now, it’s an acne treatment that kills the bacteria, the kind of bacteria that feeds on sebum (vile). It contains Clindamycin which will (hopefully) kill this bacteria by controlling the spread of the bacteria and allow the sebaceous glands in my skin to calm down and heal. Having an anti-bacterial treatment seemed like a good idea because although I’m conscious of keeping everything that touches my face clean, I was probably helping the bacteria spread!

This lotion comes in a roller ball, which is apparently not sold here in the UK anymore but from forums I gather that it is still sold in the US; I’ve got the normal cap top one. The lotion itself is a milky thin substance that doesn’t smell of anything really which was quite a nice surprise and I was told I wouldn’t see results until 6 weeks or more so I think this is a good time to do my first review.

After applying this morning and night to a clean face I started to see my skin clear up within a week, I didn’t have a ‘new’ blemish and the ones I did have were less inflamed and noticeable; and its been like this quite consistently since. The only time I’ve noticed a flare up is when my hormones invite themselves in for a week or two. The only side-effects I’ve noticed are that my skin is even more oily if that’s even possible, but this is something I’ve read on forums; people often say that you won’t see real results until you’ve finished the bottle so I still have time.  My skin is still quite red in places and I have scars, pigmentation and large pores so that’s something I can talk about and review in a few weeks.

The instructions on how to use this treatment say that any other use of targeted acne treatment should be stopped whilst on the course so maybe stripping back your skincare routine can help you see better results. Overall I think this lotion is helping, but it’ll be interesting to see how long for (I’ll post about it when I finish the course)

Has anyone else tried this? And does anyone know anything about oral antibiotics for mild acne?

xxx

12 comments

  1. The product is okay short term as long as you only apply to the breakout specifically. it can cause over-dryness and rashes / topical dermatitis if used too much. I hope it works for you 🙂

    1. I was told it should only be applied where its needed and I’ve been doing that but I don’t want to over use it and have my skin get used to it. So far so good though. Thanks for commenting 🙂 x

  2. Michelle Edwards · · Reply

    I’ve been taking tetralysal antibiotics for my acne since aug. Good results but still get my fair share of spots!

    1. I haven’t heard of that, how long is the course of antibiotics? Seeing really good results from the Dalacin T lotion but its nearly gone. Have you tried it? x

    2. My mum has just told me she works with your mum! Thanks for reading x

  3. Polly Hassall · · Reply

    Just read your blog about Dalacin t and was wondering how you’ve got on with it? My daughter (she’s only 9) has been prescribed it for a patch of acne covering her nose. Initially we saw good results with a gradual improvement but after 4ish weeks of using she has another outbreak. What was your experience? Thanks, Polly

    1. Hi Polly, thanks for reading.
      I noticed results quite quickly, my biggest concern was cystic acne around my jaw line.
      What sort kind of acne does she have?
      I don’t think it really started working until I was at the end of the course so possibly 8 weeks;
      and I’ve read similar stories. So stick with it!
      I’m on my second bottle but use it sparingly when I get small breakouts.

      I hope it works for your daughter; I have sensitive skin and the only side
      effect I get is a very oily t-zone and occasionally my skin is itchy after
      application.
      Hope this helps!
      Abbie

      1. Polly Hassall · ·

        Ok we’ll keep at it! Not sure of the type of acne, the GP didn’t specify but I think ‘unwelcome’ covers it 🙂
        Thanks for responding so quickly. She just seems so young to have to deal with this, we’re hoping that it’s a one off thing that will go as quickly as it came but we’ll have to wait and see. Thanks again, Polly

      2. Fingers crossed it works for her!x

  4. I started using dalacin t 4 days ago and I am starting to notice my blemishes are getting smaller and I am also using diane 35 justwondering is anyone using bio oil for the scarring and if so does it make it worst. I want 2 try using both but not to sure anyways iam also using benzagel . The benzagel and dalacin t are an alternative to clindamycin because my plan does not cover clyndamicin and its quite expensive 57$ a pop so the pharmacist recommended I use dalacin t and benzagel since they both have the same ingredients as clyndamicin hope it works 🙂

  5. is any1 else using the same things iam diane 35 dalacin t and benzagel if so let me know thanx 🙂

  6. Johne111 · · Reply

    Hey, you used to write amazing, but the last couple of posts have been kinda boring I miss your tremendous writings. Past couple of posts are just a little out of track! come on! fddefdcdkeke

Leave a Reply

